At Quality Academy, we have helped alot of students achieve professional qualifications, including those accredited by IASSC - it's what we do, and we really are the experts.

We offer a wide range of IASSC courses, all carefully designed to meet the specific needs of the relevant IASSC syllabus. Our courses are developed by experienced IASSC trainers (many of whom are also Certified Master Black Belts), who work closely with highly trained educational editors. They are available as taught classroom courses, e-learning courses, or a combination of the two (Distance/Blended learning courses). If you are looking for training for your organisation, we can also tailor our courses to suit your specific requirements.

- IASSC's Frequently Asked Questions -

What is IASSC?
IASSC Certification is a globally recognized Lean Six Sigma Certification. IASSC has been conducting Professional Credentialing in Lean Six Sigma based on our mission of bringing Certification Best Practices to the industry since 2009. At the start of 2018 more than 7000 professionals have earned an IASSC Certification.
If a professional has been certified by IASSC, it means the professional has successfully demonstrated their competence in the subject matters as determined by professionally developed examinations based on the IASSC Bodies of Knowledge.
Certified Professionals are issued a Certificate (PDF) along with a Certification Number, a digital badge, added to the Official IASSC Certification Register and granted the right to use the IASSC Certification Marks and Titles; as professional designation which may be used in resumes and public profiles such as LinkedIn, consistent with the IASSC Marks Use Policy.
What Certifications does IASSC offer?
IASSC™ offers three Lean Six Sigma Certifications. IASSC Black Belt Certification™, IASSC Green Belt Certification™, IASSC Yellow Belt Certification™.
Difference between Yellow, Green and Black Belts?

The Six Sigma professionals exist at all levels in the organization, but play different roles at each level. We often hear six sigma professionals entitled to specific color belts. Yellow belt, Greenbelt, Black belt are some common notations among these professionals. This is because; the genesis for these notations comes from Japanese martial art. Popularly known as Judo – Karate. This Japanese technique has specific levels of practitioners as per their skills & expertise. In Japan, the specific colored belts distinguish them. A similar concept is adopted in Six Sigma. At the project level, a six sigma role varies from yellow belt & green belt to black belt & Master Black belt. The referencing of “belts” by color is a simple and effective way of quickly understanding the skill set and experience level. Hence, a six sigma professional with a “belt color” is able to differentiate his role as well as expertise in the team. Getting hands on, any of the six sigma belts brings both short-term & long-term benefits for the organization.

What is the IASSC Lean Six Sigma Body of Knowledge?

The IASSC Lean Six Sigma Body of Knowledge™ is an assembly of a comprehensive set of topics and subject matters that are intended to be representations of the universally and commonly accepted, minimum competencies and core proficiencies requisite of a Lean Six Sigma Black Belt, Lean Six Sigma Green Belt and Lean Six Sigma Yellow Belt. For more information see the IASSC Lean Six Sigma Body of Knowledge.

What is the difference between IASSC and ASQ body of knowledge?

By various measures, the IASSC and ASQ Lean Six Sigma Standards and Certifications are both widely respected, recognized and utilized across the Lean Six Sigma Industry. The differences in the Bodies of Knowledge becomes apparent when comparing the two standards. The ASQ Body of Knowledge defines areas outside of what IASSC believes the industry considers standard knowledge requirements for a designated practitioner. For example, these areas include, Enterprise Wide Deployment and DFSS, among others. However the Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve and Control (DMAIC) components of the IASSC & ASQ Bodies of Knowledge are almost identical. Additionally, in terms of certification criteria, ASQ requires an affidavit of project completion be submitted for consideration of Black Belt and Green Belt Certification. IASSC provides knowledge based certification exams and does not have a project requirement, nor does it recognize the legitimacy of an affidavit to satisfy a project requirement. Additional information relative to IASSC’s position on project requirements for certification can be found here and here.

Is IASSC accredited by ICE or ANSI?

Currently, IASSC is a “Member” of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE) and a “Full Member” of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). IASSC relies on these organizations as a trusted source of valuable information pertaining to how IASSC manages and sets policies. Both ICE & ANSI also offer Accreditation; however, IASSC has not yet applied for accreditation from either organization and is currently evaluating when it will do so.

How to choose which belt certification is best suited for you?

1. Yellow belt certification:
Give the general view of six sigma approach. A kind of six sigma certification related to awareness of the concept. This is a foundational certificate, which every employee should undergo in a six sigma oriented organization.

2. Green belt certification:
It’s a second level certification, which focuses on developing Six Sigma green belts. Green belts in most of the organizations, work on ad hoc basis in a six sigma project. But, this certification paves your way to six sigma journey. You can master the basics of six sigma after going through green belt certification.

3. Black Belt certification:
This is an advanced level Six Sigma certification. Here, you get the exposure to high level six sigma approach. It is always advisable, yet not mandatory, to obtain green belt before going for black belt certification. Black belt certification equips you to exercise Black belt roles. You’ll be able to lead six sigma projects independently after obtaining BB certification.
4. Master Black Belt certification:
This is a top-level Six Sigma certification. It is oriented for the six sigma mentor and coach roles. After obtaining BB certificate and leading some six sigma projects as BB, you can pursue for MBB certification. MBB certification not only certifies you as a master of six sigma methodology but also, develops your coaching and facilitation skills.
In addition, if you are taking a project sponsor or champion role, you should pursue yellow belt certification. For a process owner, green belt certification is advisable.